Grey’s Anatomy Season 11: Caterina Scorsone Promoted to Series Regular

68As TV Guide reports, Shonda Rhimes and ABC are promoting Caterina Scorsone to series regular for Grey’s Anatomy Season 11, meaning Derek’s sister Amelia is putting down roots in Seattle.

Caterina’s new full-time status is the first substantial news we’ve heard about Season 11, with three months or so to go before the show returns and begins its second decade on TV.

And it’s a development we predicted (and started hoping for) back in April, especially since Caterina was totally game to stay on.

“I think [Shonda is] such a remarkable woman and showrunner and creative genius,” the 32-year-old enthused to TV Fanatic at the time. “And I think if she wanted me to do one episode, I would do one episode, and if she wanted me to do 500 episodes, I’d do 500 episodes.”